Flannel Flowers

A meeting of the photo group at mine, only the second face to face and the last for this year.
Very worthwhile, with lots of Lightroom tips from Sue, though the best tip she gave me was pointing me in the direction of an extensive group of flannel flowers in Leura.
They are so named because of the soft woolly feel of the plant.
I know they're not rare, but it's unusual to see them, especially in such abundance, and a real treat.
I love the way, like that other stunning native flower, the waratah, that they 'dance'.
The conditions were far from ideal, as it was windy and they're very delicate. 
I'd hardly started when it began to pour, so I'll have to return.

If you're up this way, and interested, head along Mt Hay Rd, about 2kms after the dirt road begins, on the right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.