what a difference a day makes

The sunlight in November is all the more precious for being rare and fleeting. After yesterday's murk, today's bright shining was more than welcome. A misty start gave way to blue sky and was perfect for a walk.

D was at (virtual) college all day so I set off on my own. I've decided to start walking on hilly ground rather than on the flat and so today's goal was to walk up the forest track to the top of Newtonairds Hill, just across the valley from our house. That's a walk of just under 4 miles and about 700ft. It's Jess's favourite walk, but sadly I can't manage a lead as well as poles so I had to leave her at home. I took it very slowly and just enjoyed being out in the fresh air, and was pleased to have passed another milestone on the road to recovery.

This afternoon I had an hour's FaceTime with my parents and brother. We talked about Christmas and the idea of the 3-household/5- day bubble. Even though it's been 10 months now since I've seen them, I am not really tempted. I'd rather wait until I felt it would be safe, hard as that will be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.