Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

Vale woman extraordinaire

I took this photo in 1965 of my extraordinary teacher who taught me three of my six subjects in my final year of school - English, Maths I and Maths II. Meet Sr M Liguori or Sr Pauline Smith as she was later known. She had an remarkable intellect. While at university as a young nun she studied English, French, German and Music. She won awards, scholarships and University medals for her work. It was soon after that that she taught us. Even as 16 year olds we knew we were privileged. She was witty, kind, insightful and always challenging - and she explained to us why the Beatles were clever musicians.

Pauline was multi-talented. She played representative sport before she entered. She composed glorious soaring music and lyrics. (Two of her compositions were played at her funeral today.)  She went on to become school principal, Superior-General of her order and played a number of significant roles in modernising religious life in Australia - often more than one at the same time. She was determined that women would play a stronger role in the Church so she became a Canon Lawyer. She did that to beat the male hierarchy at their own game. These are my words, not hers. She would have expressed it with far more eloquence, diplomacy and understanding.

This is but a subset of her achievements. She was an exceptionally gifted human being and a woman of deep faith.

I kept in touch with her for over 50 years.I loved her and am profoundly grateful that I was so blessed to have known her. The extra is yours truly with Pauline in 2005. It wasn't the last time we spent time together but it is the last photo I have of us together.

Pauline was buried this morning. She was 88 and had been a Sister of Mercy for 68 years.

Vale Pauline, woman extraordinaire - and thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.