Misty Morning, Sunny Afternoon

It was a very cold and misty morning, so I popped outside to take a photo looking across the field behind my bungalow as I was not going to be able to get out due to having half my carpets fitted. They arrived just before 9 and left just before 3 to do 3 rooms (1 of which had no carpet or underlay due to a water leak). Normally I'd take a photo of 'fitters at work' but with Covid I had to keep in a separate room and stay well away. It's looking good so far. I noticed the sun was low when they left, so I took another photo to show the difference. 

Day 256 / Day 22 of Lockdown 2 (for my record only)
UK deaths up 498 to 57,031 (revised basis), with 17.555 new cases, 16,341 patients in hospital and 1,480 on ventilation. The ONS infection survey shows that 1 in 85 now have the virus in England, an improvement on the previous week. 99% of England has been placed in the two highest tiers post lockdown with 41.5% of the pop'n being in Tier 3 and 57% being in Tier 2. Liverpool and Warrington move down to Tier 2. Areas in Tier 3 are promised access to rapid-result tests and cash subsidies. The Mayor for Manchester is still complaining. The only areas in Tier 1 are the Isle of Wight, the Isles of Scilly and Cornwall. The PM said that if we ease off now we risk a lockdown in the New Year. In response to a question, the CMO said 'Would I encourage someone to hug and kiss their elderly relatives? No I would not.'  AstraZeneca is to run an extra trial of the Oxford vaccine in response to the better result in a subset of the main trial who were accidentally given only a half dose in the first injection. This subset was only 2,741 people and none were over 55, raising concerns that age skewed the results. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.