The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Finished Painting

This is the finished painting from last week’s assignment. It’s based on my teacher’s photo of fall leaves. The aim was to get the colors as close as possible to those in the photo. I like the result.

This week’s assignment is to do a painting from another photo using the same palette we used on last week’s work. I’ve done the drawing and inking. I also used a resist to paint out the white areas so they will still be there after I do the rest of the painting. You remove the stuff and voila, white space. I’m thinking of using a wetter paper and letting the colors move and blend in the background part of the painting.

Today is Thanksgiving in the US. I like that holiday that usually involves a large turkey dinner with family and friends. This year due to Covid we ate alone. I made salmon, rice and salad. Shelly made Mandelbrot cookies for dessert. We did the best we could in making it a family day by zooming three times, twice with family and once with friends. That made the day feel much more warm and happy. And we all shared what we were thankful for this year.

For me it’s Shelly, our families and friends, that we are all healthy and safe, zoom and other electronic ways we keep in touch, and being able to make art with my teacher and friends. Life is good.

Oh yes. And that Biden and Harris won the US presidential election. Decency, respect, trust in learning and science, and compassion are back. Hallelujah!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.