Fashion Conscious

One Street: Market Square, Shipley #19

After the soft natural lines of the Spanish mountain landscape and the hard abstract lines of a modern airport it is a return today to the gritty realism of Shipley Market Square. It's felt bitterly cold here and on a non-market day there weren't too many people around. I wasn't too keen on hanging around either so I took just a couple of photographs and hoped for the best. This woman, having a quiet fag behind the bus stop, wears the face of a career smoker but also a certain dignity. She has a little bit of style. I can't help but think she also has some great stories to tell.

So, back to work today after returning from Malaga just before midnight, eldest son picking me up at the airport. I felt what I can only describe as rather 'floaty' yesterday, and that feeling has persisted today. It's as if my mind and my body have parted company on the journey home. It's not quite as if I've left my spirit behind in Spain but more like it's got lost in transit. It's not an altogether unfamiliar feeling. After such a complete break it usually takes me a few days to restore myself back to normality.

Thanks for all the great support for my journal while I've been in Spain. It's was great fun for TJ and I to look at our comments together in the morning before heading out for the day. I should play a bit of catch-up with you tonight but the boys need to be the first priority - and my eyes are feeling incredibly heavy after a day back at the computer. I need to cook too. I doubt whether my sons have eaten many vegetables in my absence, but that applies to me too. I don't eat birds and mammals but I do eat fish, and that was just as well because the other choices when eating out were rather limited. I've really missed my greens!

Finally, if you've been inspired by the shots and stories of our adventures in this part of Spain then I can highly recommend the place where we stayed. Steve, our host, was great, and the apartment (for two) at the Finca La Mariposa deserves a little plug! Very reasonable cost and a great location.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.