Thanksgiving

Riddle really wants that turkey.

Today was a good Thanksgiving but a kind of bad day. My uncle emailed me with an update on my 99-year-old grandpa. Grandpa's been living with him for several months, and lately he's been seeing a hospice nurse because, as my uncle puts it, there's no cure for old age. The nurse told him today that Grandpa's in the beginning of the final stage of dying.

He asked all the grandkids to try to visit him. They're all in Arizona and should be able to, though I don't think some will. I am going to do a virtual visit on Sunday.

In other news, my brother's in the hospital. He had a problem with his foot but then learned his oxygen was dangerously low and his CO2 dangerously high. He has sleep apnea, which he found out last year when he was hospitalized for a broken ankle. 

He's had a series of misfortunes lately. His car was totaled in August when someone hit it. He bought a cheap car and that was totaled in a hit-and-run this month. Now he has no car, and he's in the hospital until he gets a breathing machine so he can sleep without dying. He tested negative for COVID-19, which is good. And he has Arizona's Medicaid, so this hospital stay won't cost him anything.

He's being discharged tomorrow. He said he'll work for a couple of more months, buy another cheap car and move in with our mom in Oregon. He plans to try to get a job, save money and move back to Tucson in a few months. I hope he can manage that.

So that's my Thanksgiving. At least the food was good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.