Small Places

By PicLocata

Glen Lednock

It was a treat to find somewhere accessible in Perthshire that Mrs P and I have never visited. The upper end of Glen Lednock is a real delight, with dramatic scenery everywhere.

Actually we didn't reach the head of the glen, having taken a shortcut path to Loch Lednock that is marked on the OS map but not worn through the heather. We just can't rely on the OS in the way we used to. I don't mind if they still show little-used paths, but so often now well-established tracks and paths are missing from both the 1:50,000 and 1:25,000 maps. There were at least two such here.

We were rewarded for our trudge across the heather by the sight of four (!) short-eared owls that flew up one at a time from a spot near us.

I noticed that I felt less confident walking across high moorland where once I felt completely at home. The terrain was within our capability; we could hardly get lost in between a track and a loch; and we were only a few Km from the public road. Even so I felt slightly vulnerable - age and lack of practice I guess.

The extras show Glen Lednock Reservoir. Amazingly a tunnel from here takes water down to St Fillans power station on Loch Tay. My final extra was taken as the light was fading, with the unseen sunset lighting up the clouds. (It's a multiple exposure, inexpertly combined, but it gives an idea of the scene.)

If you have read this far, please take a look full-size on black.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.