Snapshots of my world

By yeeeeed

3-0!

I'm not the biggest fan of my birthday but I have been made to feel truly special today.

The day started with my Mum chatting to Vanessa on Radio 2 in her jolly good fellow slot. Mum even managed to mention Blip and how it's fabulous it is. Too true!

I arrived at school to find my classroom has been decorated by the caretaker and his wife, the school cook. Banners, balloons and confetti saying 30. How thoughtful!
The children in my class made me lots of cards and a big card all together too, and each of them sang to me in the register...it became quite a long process getting to the last name!!

This evening I have enjoyed a brew round the fire pit my Dad has purchased. I love the smell and the warmth it gives off!! I've opened some lovely gifts including a personalised mug from Holly celebrating our friendship, a heated throw from Mum and Dad, a salt lamp from my sister and a rainbow umbrella from my auntie. A very lucky lady.

I'm looking forward to a weekend of fun too. It's not the weekend away we had planned, but we can still go adventuring!

On days like these I have to remind myself you don't have to go to university at 18, get a job at 21, buy a house at 25, be married by 30 and so on...I often find myself feeling I've not achieved anything and I'm a let down to society on my birthday...must try not do so...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.