Stunning Rainbow

I went out for a walk up East Cairn Hill this morning.  I set out in drizzle, but it was dry most of the time.  It did rain a bit while I was at the summit, but fortunately the wind was strong enough that the rain was blowing upwards so I could shelter behind a drystone wall and keep myself and my radio completely dry.

I did a SOTA activation, with contacts on VHF from Greenock and Cumbria (as well as a few local ones), and on HF international contacts from Spain, France, Germany. Switzerland, Greece and Sweden.  One of the Swiss contacts was also on a summit there - Buechberg/ Dunkelboden apparently, which at 650m is not exactly the tallest peak in the country.  He was only 80m higher than I was!

Word of the walk was BOG - I will be drying out my boots (and the lower half of my trousers for a week.  My gaiters had to be hosed off before I could bring them in the house...

Extras: 
    At the summit (another rainbow in background)
    Radio in the wild...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.