Pictorial blethers

By blethers

St Andrew's Day

I can remember having a school holiday for St Andrew when I was a child; it turns out that our local schools were off today, though not for the teachers: they were doing INSET. I was certainly more aware than ever of St Andrew today, with the FM making her speech to the SNP conference and saltires all over social media. 

Saltires, yes - but also icons. Partly this is because of the company I keep - not the blessed company of the saints, but of people in the Episcopal Church who have a fondness for icons. My own icon of St Andrew, in the lower left corner above, came to me as the result of a commission 18 months ago when I fell in love with the photo of a much larger version that had been created for a church in the States. I shall never forget that I first saw it when I was in St Isaac's Cathedral in St Petersburg, when the artist sent me a progress report. I took this morning's photo before I rushed out into the calm damp morning for a fasting blood test; by the time I emerged a biting northerly wind had arrived and I was glad to scurry back up the hill for breakfast.

After that came Pilates, now with the sun streaming into the studio as we strained to hold interesting positions; the weight of one's own body is quite a thing, really. Home for coffee, then out again to collect not one box of Advent candles but three: they had all arrived at the sacristan's house at once, the day after they were required. So while Himself practised on the organ, I replaced the candles in the Advent wreath, now looking much more balanced (top left), and took a photo of the St Andrew window which had the early afternoon sun streaming through it.

Later, we had a fairly fruitless search in the town for sticky labels (to print for Christmas cards; so much for shopping local...) and I bought a ton of bird food (hyperbole alert) so that the short walk along the West Bay felt like an endurance test. A collie dog was playing in the sea, chasing small waves, oblivious to the chill, and the moon rose as we came back along the road home. 

I've just watched a most moving item on the 10 o'clock BBC News, about two clergymen tackling the awful problem of food poverty in their city. I was too dozy to take in exactly where in England this was, but I take my hat off to these two men as they struggle with the emotional demands of so many desperate people. Talk about putting your money where your mouth is ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.