Repairs

Around a third of a century ago I bought a sewing machine, rather ambitiously thinking I'd make clothes for Firstborn, due five months later. I'm not great at sewing but I've used it on and off ever since. 

In June it stopped working, the itinerant repairer I contacted was shielding, so I left it.

In October I found another repairer. Apparently lockdown has driven loads of people to haul dusty sewing machines from their attic and discover they are not working so he put me on his waiting list - six weeks. I had in my diary to contact him seven weeks on, today, but before I could, he called me. Would it be OK to collect today? In half an hour? When he arrived I asked how long it would take, assuming I'd see my machine again sometime in January. No, he collects four machines per trip, repairs them then returns them, so end of the week. I told him I wouldn't be here and he could leave it with my neighbour. Twenty minutes later he rang me. My machine was opened up on his workbench, would I be in for him to bring it back this evening?

So this evening I'm all set for another third of a century.

Black and white in colour 220

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.