Generosity and Great Hearts

Yesterday a package arrived late in the day…from España. From dear friends I have never met, but have known on Blip since 2010. 

I think when the idea of Blipfoto first arose, it was about the journals, about people keeping track of their daily lives with photographs, one a day. I don’t know if Joe Tree ever thought about how deep relationships can go when you check in on each other pretty much every day for years on end. I don’t have many face-to-face friends I see that often, that regularly. I only have one person in my in-person life whose daily life I hear about daily. So we have a unique intimacy, we who are friends via Blip. 

Barrioboy, making what he calls an “informal” address to the haggis here, and his lovely life partner Digitaldaze, were in Seville in late January and purchased these gifts for Bella and Evan. I haven’t been out to their house for the past 3 weeks because of the second lockdown (but who’s counting?), yet I’m sure I’ll get there again some day, if only for a drive-by delivery of gifts. I do miss them. The gifts meanwhile gleam beautifully in the sunshine near my windows. 

I was going to keep the gifts till Christmas, but I thought why wait, so I showed the children via Facetime what they have in store when I next come to them. They shouted for delight, and they both say they are going to make thank you cards to send to Barcelona. Evan showed me his latest dragon and asked if that would make a good thank you card, and I assured him it's perfect. Bella said she's going to try to make a Flamenco dancer in a red skirt. Generosity as a goad to creativity. I love that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.