Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Vacancy

Most of you know that I have an abiding fascination with insects, so it won’t come as any surprise to learn that I have several bee “motels” around the garden. They are simple affairs, easy to find at garden centers and places like Home Depot. The more handy among you probably make the, yourselves.

The first year I put out a motel, it’s first residents were mason bees. By mid-spring, the masons are pretty well done with their nests and by late spring they are gone, leaving just a mud-sealed nest behind. Next spring, the new generation of masons will emerge to start the process all over again.

Equally fascinating are the grass-carrying wasps whose nests you can readily identify here (yes, the ones with grass hanging out the front door.). Inside each cavity the Female wasp leaves several eggs and a paralyzed tree cricket. The eggs become larvae, which then feed on the cricket. In the fall, they pupate and remain in that state until spring when they emerge as adult grass carrying wasps. Pretty neat, right?

Today Hubs and I put the winter cover on the motor home - what a hellish job! Every little breeze tried to snatch it away, u til we could finally get it all secured. A few tense moments but it’s done now. See Extra for a pic of Hubs laying next to it securing the last “under belly” strap.

I am hoping to finally get my drivers license renewed tomorrow. It expired in June when everything was shut down so have until the end of this month. Unfortunately, the motor vehicle offices are all still inundated so I expect a long wait. Yuck. And it took me quite a while to gather all the various documents I need to bring with me since we are switching now to a more secure license.

Depending on how the day goes tomorrow, we may stop and get our tree. And I may even start drafting a holiday letter (thanks to all of you for reminding me why I should do that!)

Fire blazing and a glass of red wine calling...

Be safe, be kind, stay the course.

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.