West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

Making progress...

I needed to get out of the flat after work so I walked up to the Old Town. I think (hope) the castle was lit up red to mark World AIDS Day. The rainbow in front of the Christmas tree was put there, like the lockdown rainbows, for NHS workers but it also seemed appropriate for the date.

I took a few shots which were terrible. A guy with a DSLR and a tripod arrived and after he set up his shot, I asked what settings he was using and he described how I could take a range of shots and merge them in software later. I knew about that in theory but had no idea how to do it. I followed his suggestions for the settings.

It's taken me two evenings of watching video tutorials to learn how to do a HDR merge of the images and get this. I'm happy that I understand a bit more about how to take and process these kinds of shots. But I have no idea how to get rid of the blue patch in the sky! I've tried everything I can think of and nothing works... Still more to learn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.