Pen-y-ghent

Dan has become a confident driver. I'm not sure he's ready for his test - I think he needs a few 'proper' lessons with an instructor - but he can definitely drive. He just needs a bit of instruction about how often to check his mirrors and so forth.

So now I can pick pretty much any route for us to go out for a drive, which is great. Plus, I no longer need to keep so much of an eye on him, and I can look out of the window.

Today I suggested we go out to Ingleton, drive north to Ribblehead, and then head east to Settle, which is what we did. And the road from Ribblehead to Settle is a lovely - and, I think, largely undiscovered - gem. As you drive along the road, Pen-y-ghent is off to your left, today brooding in some gloomy autumn weather, like an ill-tempered giant.

****
-12.3 kgs
Reading: 'The Vanishing Half' by Brit Bennett

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.