Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Just a smattering

Snow was forecast over night last night, but I didn't really expect it. Many of my friends who live inland or uphill from us will laugh at this, but this is what I woke to this morning. The temperature hasn't really risen much today so it is still here this evening. More is forecast, but we are on the edge of the area. We'll see. Very glad we had our outdoor lunch with Katy yesterday though.
We didn't do terribly much today, Colin drove me to D'mains Tesco, we did some shopping then I walked back. My knee seems to be complaining if I walk too far, but a mile and a half seems to be OK. I heard from the surgeon that I had been on a list for the 28th December but it had been cancelled due to staffing difficulties. I'm not sorry, with the timing of Covid tests I'd likely have had to isolate over Christmas which I would have been very unhappy about. Not seeing the girls on Christmas Day would have been a step too far.
I contacted HMRC today and made my final NI payment for 2019/20. I only need to live for another 4 years to make it worthwhile and I have every intention of doing that!
As it really is Thursday today, we had evening prayer, we were celebrating one of our members becoming a UK citizen, she is French but has lived here all of her adult life, her husband and children were all born here. With changes in her passport requirements due to Brexit, it became easier for her to change.
Bridge tonight, we did well and won which was nice, I was particularly pleased with my play in a couple of hands and didn't really make any disastrous mistakes - or if I did I didn't notice and nobody was unkind enough to point them out to me.

Keep safe and well everybody, the vaccine is so close, even if I am in group 5, what's a few more months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.