1960 - 2020

Big nephew arrived on my doorstep a few days ago with this little gift for me. It looks like a tiny (2 inches high) stainless steel drink bottle with a key chain and heart. There are the words "Live your Dash" on it. Those words refer to that little punctuation mark between the two dates of the birth and death of a person. It advises us to live extravagantly, joyously and kindly for all the days and weeks and years of our lives.

The poem was read by my sister at Mom's funeral 18 months ago. My sister picked it too. It was read again at my sister, Gill's funeral by big nephew's partner, Vicki. It holds so many memories and emotions and with lockdowns, house moves, the arrival of Louie and the approach of Christmas all our emotions are very close to the surface.

The little canister contains a small amount of Gill's ashes. For me to hold on to. James and I hugged one another. Social distancing was not possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.