Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

We are having another warm spell.  Today was 60 F with bright sunshine so I had to take advantage and go for a bike ride.  I don't think I've ridden in December without a jacket before.  Just a sweatshirt was perfect for my 31 mile ride.  :-)

Today's collage

Top row:        American Kestrel, our smallest and most colorful falcon in North America.
                       Snow on the trail came as a complete surprise.  Fortunately, there were only a few stretches, mostly in shaded areas.  It was very slippery because it had melted and frozen again.  I was very careful!
                       A cute farm stand in someone's driveway.  It was filled with homemade jams, sauces, dips and more.  There was a cash box and a note asking people to be on the honor system.  I'll go back in the car. :-)

Middle:        Christmas Dragon and Frosty the Snowman surrounding a beautiful mural.  There were two more panels on each side but I couldn't get in a position to capture the whole thing.

Bottom:       "Make Believe Farm"  That's what the sign on the barn says but I think it's too small to see.  It's actually a large working farm. 
                      Teasel is the closest thing we'll have to flowers for the next several months.  It's very invasive and was everywhere along the trail today.  It was pretty with sun shining on it.
                       It seems that I can always find a Red-tailed Hawk to complete my collage. :-)

I really appreciate all the comments, stars and hearts from the last few days and I will respond to all of them tomorrow.  Tonight I'm going to visit journals and sprinkle stars because I want to get caught up and I'll start back with comments tomorrow.  Thanks for understanding!

I am grateful for the warm weather forecast for the next 5 days.  I hope it's right and I will be able to have a few more December rides. :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.