shades of grey

I took this image and then read Pixel Smith's most recent blip and then the two made sense together. This year in November, after almost 6 years of working for the same place I will be going out on my own, restarting my design career, whatever that means.

I have had moments of the illusions that Pixel refers to but am under no illusions that going out on my own will somehow be miraculously easier than the work I am doing now. It will, however, be what I am wanting to do.

I will also be weaned from the institutional nipple. It's only recently, having committed now to the next thing that I am realising how much I had begun to coast, and how much the institution had contributed to that. Of course, I played my part in that, but I have been encouraged to coast, to play the game and the politics just to keep (in?)sane, and not be completely trampled on. From here on in any stupid decisions will be mine, and I'll take responsibility for them.

I'm also looking forward to moving more and more from talking (the bulk of my job) to doing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.