Booths

When I first moved to Kirkby Lonsdale, it was a far more conservative town. To be honest, I was concerned it would go the same way as Grange-over-Sands and become, to all intents and purposes, a retirement village. I still remember the great discontent in the late nineties when the Indian restaurant opened. More than twenty years later, I'm still celebrating!

It was around that time that rumours began to circulate that Booths was thinking of opening a store here. Much like the EU, I could never quite understand why people were against it even though it was clearly an upsetting prospect for some.

I thought it sounded great and so it has proven to be. Sure, it's a bit pricey - it is the "Waitrose of the north" - but the food is all of excellent quality and much of the staff has been there for years so it always has a very friendly vibe.

I must say, though, that it did take me momentarily by surprise to see that it's been twenty years since it opened. It still feels kind of new.

****
-13.8 kgs
Reading: 'The Vanishing Half' by Brit Bennett

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.