Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Mrs Cardinal

This female cardinal has been hanging around at the feeder and at the bird bath.   I snapped this photo while I was waiting for her to jump in the bath and do some splashing.   Something startled her (not me!) and she flew off right after she turned her head for this photo.   

Or maybe she decided that water was just too cold for a splash today.

We were going to do some hiking at Congaree National Park today so we left before lunch, got some takeout pulled pork sandwiches and headed over to the park.   There were way too many people there with no parking spots available so we went to a trailhead for the Palmetto Trail that was about 10 miles further.   We only saw one person riding a bike on the this trail.   We walked for three hours in the quiet with temps just perfect for walking.     It was my favorite kind of hike.  

Since we were so close to #2 son's home when we finished the hike we contacted him about going out to eat for supper.   Of course he said yes and said he really had been wanting Mexican.  So we ate Mexican.     We enjoyed the time together but driving home the hubby said that he did not want to go to a Mexican restaurant for a long time.  It is not his favorite kind of food.    Brett and I both love it!   

A busy week coming up for me.  I did manage to get my Christmas candles in the windows.  The rest of the decorations are in the spare bedroom.  Debating on how much more I want to drag out.   Maybe tomorrow I will decide...or not.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.