Ratio and rations

It was at this point that I started wondering whether the ratio of good words to bad words was linked to Type I and Type II fun.  It was definitely swinging the wrong way at times, as I occasionally questioned my outing, but I was determined to make the most of a glorious day and hunt down some snow - even if it was just out of reach. 

I had an on-board cafe today, not feeling like I should stop in a Tier 2 cafe when we're a level higher.  I pioneered a small flask of hot soup and wrapped an old inner tube around it so it fitted in one of my drinks cages.  A little closer to the snow in the distance, on the last big downhill, I paused for a while, on tenterhooks to find out if it was even vaguely hot.

Amazingly, it was!  It was the best soup and crumbled oatcakes (left over in my saddle bag from the first lockdown) ever!

I did well for staying warm but the cold had a cumulative effect on my muscles generally over the hours I was out.  I knew I was going to be tired 20 miles in, and with an average zero degrees on the ride, I sure was. 

It's been a rare, and much enjoyed, hot bath day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.