Unexpected

The weather isn't especially conducive for walking but given that I'd committed to walking at least mile in the countdown to Christmas, I "forced" myself to head out for a short walk before lunch.

My efforts were rewarded by this rose which I was not expecting as I turned the corner. 

After lunch I was flicking through Facebook and a post from Paths for All encouraging participants to pledge to walk once a day this winter caught my eye. I have now signed up (and committed to not just going out once a day until the 25th but until the 31st of January ! 

Bookgroup was fun last night - as ever it was great to see and chat with everyone (including our new member). The book "The Authenticity Project" by Claire Pooley (which I had chosen)  provoked an interesting range of responses from welcome escapism to the worst book ever.  My views were a pleasant enough read but I possibly prefer my escapism to come without literary pretensions.  However it was a contrast to "Shuggie Bain" by Douglas Stuart which has been our previous book. 

I had originally chosen "The Less Dead" by Denise Mina as it too is a dark novel set in Glasgow. 

Afterwards I watched "High Seas" - a Spanish series which is a cross between Agatha Christie and Miss Fisher and which does not take itself seriously at all. Pure escapism.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.