Camera Shy

By Wildstar

What a difference a day makes...

Same place,  different weather -  see yesterday's shot.
Had a taste of what lockdown feels like - just for a morning!   Had to wait in for BT Openreach engineer to come to get my broadband up and running after an upgrade failed to activate.  The hub which should have been delivered in time for  Saturday's activation ( despatched on 24th Nov.) finally arrived just 1/2 hr. before the engineer today.  Another one is on its way as well now!   I was assured my existing hub could manage the upgrade when I spoke to a man at Sky who asked  me if it was a vertical hub which has a smily face on one of the buttons.  It turns out that it would have helped if his first question had been what colour it was. The engineer confirmed that my model, a white one, would not cope with the upgrade as its colour indicated it was old as they are all black now. 
Lovely day and great to have broadband back.  Couldn't wait to get out.  I chose the morning slot for the engineer to come and the enforced wait was just a small taster of what it must be like to not be able to go out at all.  
Squirrels were everywhere in the woods.  Missed taking a shot of a squabble between a crow and a squirrel over a piece of bread.  I think the squirrel won as he charged at the crow and then made off with the morsel into dense undergrowth straight into the path of another squirrel I think as there was quite a kerfuffle going on.
Drove home past Mum's Care Home as it is on the way.  One of the carers was sitting on the front wall so I pulled up to have a chat as it is not that possible to catch up with news as I mostly just chat with Mum on the phone.  It turned out she was outside having a little moment to herself and was tearful.  She apologised and said she  was waiting for her husband to collect her.  She was on the brink of leaving her job as it was just becoming "too much".   The length of time they have been shielding our relatives must be exhausting.  I felt very sorry for her and hoped she would sleep on it,  have a couple of days rest and reconsider.  
It has been a great day but that reminder of how life has been for carers, health workers etc. made me feel grateful for the freedom I had today to go out in the sunshine with my camera and enjoy myself.
Extra is a squirrel who posed on a fence in the sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.