Life Savors

By osuzanna

Swimming in Gold

It appears that today is my 6-year blip anniversary, but I am feeling a bit sheepish about any recognition of it as it has taken me nearly seven years to get here!

Certainly, the last nine months have been a bit of a struggle, with fewer places to go, no travel, no family visits.   So many of my favorite subjects are not available and there are days where I find my motivation completely missing. Nevertheless, I am very happy to be a part of this wonderful community and have absolutely no plans to stop.  I greatly appreciate your visits and comments.  It adds light to the dull monotony of the days.  This truly is a special place and I feel so lucky to have found it.  Through Blip, I have met some really wonderful people both virtually and in person.  My life is so much richer for it. 

I spent this morning at Huntley Meadows.  I have been trying to get myself into the mindset of "cold weather" shooting, taking note of what to wear comfortably when it is in the '40s or in the '30s or lower.  Today it was about 35 degrees when I got there, but I forgot the hand warmers.  I have put some in the car for next time. 

The face masks are definitely a plus as far as warmth goes, but I found I did a bit of fumbling because the face mask fogs up the viewfinder, and it is difficult to adjust or pull off the face mask with gloves on. I was constantly fussing with something.  

There were a few birders there looking for the recently seen Clapper Rail and Sora, but neither were to be found today.  The Northern Pintails have returned and I grabbed this shot as they swam in the early morning sun and the tree reflections.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.