AnnieBelle

By AnnieBelle

Christmas biscuits

Today I made the biscuits in the photo, as per the recipe in the extra. As it turns out, they are seriously yummy biscuits but the main reason I cut out the recipe is because I liked the look of them - star shaped for Christmas and generally eye catching.

Should you wish to make them, I have some tips that will save you time and bother.

1 Make the dough on one day and the biscuits the next. The dough has to rest in the fridge for one hour, but I always find dough is easier to manage if it's been in the fridge for one day.

2 Instead of icing sugar for the dusting/rolling out of the dough, use plain flour. Icing sugar makes everything terribly sticky and plain flour won't spoil it. You might like to roll between baking paper.

3 It says brush the meringue mix on the cut out biscuits thinly, but you can go thicker than I did. I had enough left over to make six little meringues which are cooking in the oven as we speak. Note that after brushing on, you have to let them sit for an hour before putting in the oven, so factor that in to your day's activities.

Tomorrow night we are meeting up for Christmas dinner, in a fabulous local restaurant which has survived the covid, with my old uni mates. I love them. Everyone will receive a cellophane bag with four bikkies. Can't wait.

Thanks for hosting BobsBlips. Stay well all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.