Tulips

I saw this picture in one of the exhibitions at the Royal Infirmary sometime in the late 1990's and discovered it was painted by our neighbour at our last house, five minutes walk away, down the road.

After the third or fourth time of looking at it I decided to buy it but, as it's rather large (75 x 97 cms) I arranged to collect it from her house when the exhibition closed; on the day I went it was snowing heavily and I struggled up the hill, fearful of slipping, dropping it and breaking the glass, but all was well and it was hung in the dining room. Until we redecorated: that was when I smashed the glass and the picture itself slightly scratched.

The picture framers in Colinton not only concealed the scratch but recommended a new frame, much nicer than the original plain black, so, redecoration complete, the picture returned to its original place, opposite my chair at the dining table.

I like it very much but I'm still waiting for that loose petal to fall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.