Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Street Art in Lausanne

My daughter and I had talked about it and then I saw it announced on the Swiss news! One of the streets: Avenue de la Harpe, between the train station and the lake, has been decorated with yarn bombing!
I read that 200kg of yarn was used, plus  extra donated yarn from different people, there were over sixty participants to make these creations (two of them men). Ages of knitters and crochet addicts from 21- 86. Apparently 114 trees have been decorated, but also railings, bus stops and other things. It was lovely to visit it all. I had to make a choice of some of the creations, but there were many, many more!


I took a home-crocheted Christmas stocking with me and attached it to the handle of the bicycle (you can see it on the lower right in the small square). So a tiny participation from me!!
The one on the lower left had wrapped the whole tree trunk in these squares and added some gloved hands! Brilliant!


I love colourful and fun ideas like this!  I'm going to contact them and see if they need any more pieces!

P.S.
The very impressive knitted piece on the upper left was made by the same lady. It represents all the flags of each Swiss Canton (county).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.