The Lundy Eye

By ilundy

How safe was my haven???

How could they be allowed to do this? The phrase 'safe haven' has been my pet hate for decades and now they make it into a film.
I've spent at least 20 years trying to impress upon young reporters never to use the expression on the basis that it's a prime example of tautology - all havens are safe.
My efforts have been thwarted by the likes of Tony Blair who once used it in the House of Commons. But to have it as a film title is the ultimate slap in the face.
I should give up and accept that it's correct to say 'sworn affidavit' and that buildings can be 'completely destroyed'. On second thoughts I'll continue to fight the good grammatical fight.
Saw Lincoln at the movies - it was brilliant. Daniel Day-Lewis deserves an Oscar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.