Beer, anyone?

Although it was baltic and icy underfoot, I met Michelle for a coffee before work after that lunatic had been out for a super early run. We even popped into a little bakery and had mince pies with Christmas trees iced on top. I was supping a gingerbread latte. Michelle (South African) reckons the festive themed drinks in coffee shops are some of the best reasons for being in the UK around Christmas.

I spent most of the day copy-editing a document which I finally sent off several hours later. I broke it up with a lunchtime walk through the wood, up the hill, atop the cliff and finally along the pebble beach. The route took me to the viewpoint over Beer, a fishing and tourist village that probably developed as a smugglers’ cove. Fishing boats have to be winched or dragged up the beach by tractors as there’s no harbour. This walk takes around an hour factoring in photo-taking time, so if there’s a better way to spend a lunch break, I wanna hear it.

By the evening, winter gales had arrived in Seaton and I realised we’d been lulled into a false sense of security. We got absolutely dumped on by a rain shower as we headed out to a fish and chip shop for a second consecutive night (naturally, we’re by the sea innit), but it didn’t dampen our spirits or our speed in wolfing our food down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.