Thank you AW.

The original of this pen and ink drawing was drawn by the famous guide book writer Alfred Wainwright. It is one of the hundreds of similar drawings which appear in his seven volume guides to fell walking in the English Lake District. They are one of the features which make his books so loved by hundreds of thousands of followers.

This is NOT a photograph of his original drawing or of a page in his book.
It is a picture of a copy which I made many years ago using my own pen and ink. It hangs in our entrance hall.

A number of times in my life I have amused myself with pen and ink and watercolour, but never with much success.
So why the renewed interest?  I have reason to suspect that I just might be getting an Apple Pencil for Christmas. There are some very good digital painting Apps and tutorials.
If you don’t see a painting blip in the next couple of months you will know that I have failed again!

Just a note about yesterday’s Cherry Blossom. If you read the first comment you will know that Blipper ValC kindly pointed out that it was Prunus x subhirtella Autumnalis which can flower in mild weather anytime between November and March.  So no connection with climate change

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.