Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Back to Reality!

Got back safely from Boscombe after a chilly bus ride, but met lots of interesting people on the way.

This morning, however, it's back to reality - washing to be done, meals to be planned, food to be bought.

Got me thinking about how fortunate we are - we have clean water whilst more than 3.4 million people die each year from water, sanitation and hygiene-related causes.

We have electricity, so that we can turn on our washing machines at the flick of a switch and in bad weather, I must confess I do use my tumble drier.

We have a roof over our head and a warm home, whilst many will sleep tonight with nothing but a cardboard box to cover them in a damp, cold and smelly shop doorway or under a bridge and may even have rats for company.

We have never gone without a meal - and although I am very careful about not wasting food, realise that even when I peel a potato, there are millions in the world who would make a meal from the peelings that I throw into the compost heap.

But most of all, I have family and friends, who are there for me, who love me despite my faults and failings and accept me as I am.

Our younger son lives and works in Vietnam and is involved in helping at an orphanage there. We have recently begun supporting this orphanage - you can read about it here - as we feel it is important to show the love of God even if we cannot be there ourselves.

We realise too that Proverbs 11:25 is true:

The one who blesses others is abundantly blessed; those who help others are helped.
The Message


WE have certainly been abundantly blessed by giving to others.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.