War food

I came across this recipe the other day, that had been passed on to me by auntie Gladys but that had originated with my darling auntie Amy. It was undoubtedly a wartime recipe (WWII, that is). Seems to be based on a sort of bread sauce - doesn't sound good. I shared the image with my cousins; to quote the Rev Gill: "I remember the recipe well - and how I hated it - cheese flavoured soggy bread - very nauseating. But must have been a war time version when the ration of eggs per person per week was minuscule." The writing at the foot of the page is Gladys's - trying to add a wee bit of texture with the dried breadcrumbs, bless her!

I've been experimenting with various austerity recipes, mostly involving root vegetables, ahead of the likely disruption to supplies that will occur in the new year. Some are surprisingly tasty and/or comforting, some, erm, less so. Think things will have to be really desperate before I try Amy's 'cheese souffle'!

Just found that the reverse side of this had a couple of recipes on it - see extra. Tomato and egg salad - mmm. And cucumber....cones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.