Skyroad

By Skyroad

Death of a Post Box

No casualties (apparently) except for this Edwardian post box. It's been on our road for over a century I'd say. A neighbour told me it took place last night, but I think he may be mistaken as we heard a loud noise this morning around 6 am. I photographed it around 9.30 and about an hour later the tow truck arrived.

I don't know how it happened, but apparently no one was hurt. Speeding possibly, though you'd think we would have heard the screeching tyres and the bang would have been louder. Maybe swerving to avoid someone's pet. Our last two cats weren't so lucky. Both were run over very near that spot (there's a dangerous corner there), the recent one just a couple of weeks ago.

The post box has survived numerous Halloween fireworks, truly startling explosions far louder than the noise made by the collision. In the 1970s it was a landmark for the well-known Dublin tramp Johnny Fortycoats whom my cousin often saw stop and walk round it three or four times (for who knows what arcane reason, for luck perhaps) before continuing on his way.

It is now up on Broadsheet.ie.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.