No Political Messages!

The surfer statue is often decorated with topical items: bunny ears, leis, pumpkins, hats of all kinds. And t-shirts. The problem is with the messages on the shirts. This one supports staff at our local bookstore ("We Support Bookshop Santa Cruz Workers" ), which doesn’t seem very controversial, but violates the non-political rule. Apparently there is a city employee whose job includes policing taking care of the statue. He’s been at it for 25 years and has many stories to tell. Here he is sawing off the t-shirt with his pole pruner. The Santa hat? it can stay. See Extra.

It has been inordinately difficult finding a replacement remote switch for one of the outdoor electrical outlets. I did not want one that was smart, or had a timer, or could be controlled by Alexa. I didn't need it to work from the other coast, nor, god forbid, did I want it to talk to me. One clerk was adamant that a remote simply wouldn't work without wifi.  Well, I finally found one on line, ordered it from my local Target, and picked it up via the Drive Up option. Almost no humans were involved, except for me and the guy who brought it to my car. What a world...
But now I can finish up the outdoor lights and never have to go out in the rain we don't have yet to turn them on and off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.