Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Weeds and Plexiglass

Yesterday I completed installing a plexiglass shield along the front of the layout. While I have never had a locomotive derail and fall to the floor - now is not the time to start. The little shield gives me some piece of mind. It protects the trains from a fall, and makes it difficult for little and big fingers to touch stuff - which seems to be an adult problem versus a kid problem. Children get it. Don't touch. Adults don't. I have repaired several switch stands because someone wanted to see if they moved. They do - but they are connected to the turnout by a slender brass rod and touching them breaks them loose. Replacing them is not fun as the brass rod often bends and must be replaced. I had now installed a sign - we will see if adults can read.

The plexi is removable so I can get to scenery work easily. Since I wanted to plant some grass and weeds next to the plexi, I went ahead and did that as well before putting in the shield. Improves the "look". Also added a hobo walking along with his sack. Obviously a retired architect looking for a place to sleep.

I also cleaned the track and vacuumed up debris. I have a locomotive on my work bench right now and need to clean the wheels and contacts. Then we will have the inaugural train run - a passenger special with "EDNA" business car at the end. This will be the next blip I hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.