SLPlearning

By SLPlearning

Learning to Love Learning: Advent Day 13

This week we'll be writing and talking about love and learning or more truthfully love and adult learning.

I am still obsessed with adult learning after 30 years of working in it, and still learning all the time. 

Earlier this year I was scrolling through emails looking for something, when I came across a message from someone I had met many years ago-this email and many others remind me daily why I love adult learning.

' I know it's been a while and I haven't seen you in ages but I just wanted to say thanks. Thanks for always inviting us to keep in touch, for finding the time to remember all of us who've come into contact with adult learning and who've changed our lives as a result. I've always wanted to say that because, it's because of adult learning that I have my own business and am now employing staff. 

You told me all those years ago that you saw potential in me, (not quite like that) even when I didn't and all it took was you to believe in me for me to believe in myself.

Nothing else will ever come close to my experience of believing in myself for the first time as an adult, I'm glad I came along that night to a cold community centre-my love of learning started there' 

What's not to love?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.