Life on the go

By BarryBadcock

Meal Planning

Menu Planning. For a number of years Sue and I have had a Breakfast Meeting once a week to plan the food for the next week. At the start of Lockdown, but not because of it, Sue started keeping the weeks lists on a shorthand notebook and we would recycle the lists. We decided we needed to add some new meals. We then discussed ways of varing the weeks lists. So …. I took the bits of paper and put the meals in a spreadsheet and we discovered that we have at the moment 32 meals we choose between. Now one day a week, normally a Wednesday, I cook and this has been from the 'I am a Curry Ledged' Cookbook, One day a week is a Friday  'Fish and Chip Van'  and One day a week is Sunday and we have reverted back to having a Sunday Roast. So this means that we need to choose 4 Meals from the list. So … We divided the list up into Groups of 6 Meals. The last 6th group has only two meals.  Sue found some dice, we roll one dice to select the group and one to select the meal. If we have a problem say with ingredients etc we roll the die again. At the moment I have not organised the 'Curry Day' so I look through the book and we choose and our Sunday Roast is still a case of 'What do we fancy;' There was a time when Sue would not like to be this organised, maybe I have worn her down :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.