atoll

By atoll

I told you I was ill

My sore throat is not any better, and so feeling like death warmed up, a graveyard is perhaps not the best place to have been seen hanging out on a Friday (well at least it wasn't the 13th).

It is only by tracking my Friday Blips over nearly a year that I have started to identify a recurring flaw trend - namely, that after my normal weekly site inspections are over in the morning, I seem to find any reason to go on a 'cultural detour' before coming back to the office (by which time it is too late to do anything more that week). I bet Lord Sugar wouldn't sympathise if I were on his Apprentice programme. I could try to blame Blip, but secretly, I quite like being a bad businessman (hey, it is one of the things I excel most in).

So it was today, and for all the right reasons, I decided to go and find Altrincham, Bowden & Hale Cemetary. It is because this is my next allocated site in my War Graves Photographic Project series. I thought I would just pop in briefly on the way back from Cheadle Hulme to see if I could get a sense of how difficult this one might be, particularly as there are over 80 graves to find this time.

Because of this, I took this shot first of the cemetary plan meaning to use it's zonal cross-reference to plan things once back at home. I didn't realise at the time it had the tree reflections in, but I quite liked that. I have a cunning plan that I might try to use a free walking / tour App this time. All being well, it should let me create 'geotags' via my iPhone GPS, whilst inputting data and a photo at the same time. This is important, because last time in Knutsford I had to go back about 6 times and kept forgetting where the key grave positions were (as each of these act as a cross reference to several others). It is like going 1 step forward and 6 steps back each time (a bit like doing a Treasure Hunt crossed with a Snakes and Ladders game).

I am suspecting the novelty of MrsB of being talked-into going for yet another Sunday walk in a graveyard this weekend maybe starting to wear a little thin. I have also somehow got to fit in England vs France in the 6 Nations Rugby at Teatime on Saturday, and check out the Man City vs Chelsea game on Sunday afternoon too. Mmm, it's going to be a tough sell (even if she did leave me home alone most of the week whilst off on a 'jolly').

I'm still confident though. Happy weekend all!





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.