MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

Hard work at 70

Last garden waste collection is pending so I thought I'd try to dig up the dead ceanothus.
This is after a lot of trimming.
There were 3 huge roots which were the devil to deal with and I've left parts of them in as one goes under the front path, one under the front wall and the other under other plants / shrubs!
I wasn't sure I'd manage it with my bad shoulder but once I started on the digging (and hacking at roots) I just kept carrying on with a short breather here and there.
Not sure if the rain helped or hindered.
Got the mass out, cut it back to make it more manageable and get rid of wet soil clinging to it, popped the soil back in the hole and then had to tread the soil down as much as I could so the local cats won't use the area as a toilet.
Oddly enough, although I expected to suffer with aches and pains next day, as it took a while and some effort to dig past the deep roots, I didn't feel much at all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.