Rise and shin

Today we walked along the coastal path from Seaton to Lyme Regis in Dorset. The route goes through several miles of verdant lush woodland that has grown up where landslips have happened and created sheltered areas. It was muddy as hell (I only fell into it on my hands and knees the once...) but the weather was surprisingly mild and with a strange humid microclimate beneath the trees.

The path eventually delivered us to Lyme Regis, which is such a surprisingly great little town. Despite getting caught in a heavy shower on the promenade, we enjoyed a few hours exploring. Some of the paths along the River Lim in the town centre were beyond cute as they backed onto cottages, emerged alongside old mills and transported us back to a century prior. As night fell we caught the bus back to Seaton after a great day out. We’d even eaten a traditional pasty to top it off.

I’ve noticed I can feel my shins after long walks in this area. In Cambridge we’re unaccustomed to hills, so I’m putting it down to descending more of those here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.