Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Cows

It's been a long long time since I touched, or was touched by, a cow. Back when I was about 14 years old I spent a weekend with a bunch of school friends at a farm that was owned by someone's... uncle? Grandparents? I don't remember. I remember basically nothing about the weekend at all except that at one point we walked over to a fence on the other side of which were some cows. The farmer said "she's friendly!" so I stuck out my hand and the cow licked it! No one else seemed to have the nerve to get close much less let the thing lick them, but I was tickled pink. I was also fascinated by the tongue itself because being the child of a British mother I had been fed beef tongue (which I never liked) and here in the living flesh was the enormous tongue! 

So we walk past these fields that sometimes have cows and calves and steers in them, and by and large if you approach the fence when they're anywhere near it, they turn and walk quickly away. And then this morning we saw the group of three in this photo and I walked slowly towards them saying friendly things. They just stood their ground! And then I stuck out my hand and the one in the center LICKED IT!!! She did it several times. I was beside myself with glee. The extra is her big wet nose. I tried to get a photo of her tongue, but she was too quick for me. Isn't she sweet? I hope I see my new friend again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.