Maggie @ Abingdon

By MaggieJH

Timber...

Well it's not quite fallen over yet but I don't think it will be long!

I went to an exercise class this morning and cycled home the long way via Abingdon lock and the Thames Path. Near the lock I saw several trees that had crashed into the river - one was being looked at by workmen when I passed.

This tree was further along, half way between the lock and the town centre, and is yet another casualty of the recent flooding. The Thames has burst its banks so many times that the banks are collapsing and some areas are now fenced off.

It was a bitterly cold morning. However my luck was in and the sun peeked out as I pushed my bike along a very muddy and soggy Thames Path. On the far bank you can glimpse Abbey Meadow: the black railings mark the boundary of the open air pool (brr.. just the thought of that makes me shiver).

Have a lovely weekend everyone. I'm attending another "afternoon of yoga" tomorrow and am very much looking forward to some entirely selfish "me" time :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.