Richard P

By ricky_p

The Great Polish Map of Scotland

P is studying the same MSc that I did and he learnt about the Great Polish Map of Scotland - I vaguely remember being told about it but forgot.  He went to visit it on a ride at the weekend and recommended it so I went today. It is located in the grounds of the Barony Castle Hotel, outside the village of Eddleston so I planned a nice cycle on my day off that went through Eddleston.

From wikipedia: it is a three-dimensional, outdoor concrete scale model of Scotland. The brainchild of Polish war veteran Jan Tomasik, it was built between 1974 and 1979 and is claimed to be the world's largest terrain relief model. 


I think I am right in saying it is 1:10000 which gives you a sense of the scale given scotland is about 400km in length. I was glad I had my GoPro with its fish-eye lense as my phone couldn't get all the map in. Viewpoint is probably around Carlisle

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.