Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Mill building together

Today I got the last walls together for the mill building.  Notice the blue painter tape - a must.  The kit uses very thin material for the walls, and I needed to put a lot of bracing on the inside just to keep them straight.  Many of the joints had stolen a bit because of the paint, but a little sanding and it all fit.  Much trying, sanding, trying, etc etc.  I would have been lost without my magnetic work space to keep things square.  The directions are OK but the full size to scale elevations and top view are wonderful.  Not a kit for a first time try but with study the parts all make sense.

Not sure I want to do another large kit with such thin walls.  It complicates things, but at least they look prototypical I suppose.  

Also I decided that I would weather the walls once all together.  Many inside and outside corners to match the weathering, and the walls were too flimsy to weather until I got it all glued together.

Now on to the boiler building, the shorting shed, the log area, and the loading areas. Whew.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.