The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Goldeneye - Freiston Shore

Okay so it's not going to win the best of Goldeneye photo 2013 award, a bit like the Barn Owl photo a couple of days back (I've got slightly more pleased with that photo as the week as gone on - it's captured a great memory for starters. The trouble is you mind eye takes a different photo to what the camera takes, and nature is unpredictable, so you just have to go with what you have got).

Just like a proper wildlife documentary I managed to get the shot I have been after all week with the last visit to the hide before I head back to Wales. I know it is grainy and high ISO, but it has been a slate grey sky all day here and freezing cold. I got to the hide and opened the hatch, and there they were right outside the window. Of course, opening the window spooked them, and off they went!

Goldeneye is of course a James Bond film, and the film is indeed named after this duck. James Bond himself is named after an ornithologist, and there is a name drop to his book in one of the films (I forget which one). Ian Flemming was a bird watcher if memory serves me correctly.

This really was a case of fourth time lucky!

I've added a dozen-ish photos to the Freiston Flickr set if you want to have a look, there's a couple of nice ones of the Black-Tailed Godwit in there, and a fly-in from a Dunlin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.