Wide Wednesday: Seeing Double

Bobsblips has chosen "Seeing Double" for today's Widwed challenge. So I thought I'd represent the fact that, even though our eyes each see a slightly different view of the world, we don't (usually) see double (at least, not unless we've somewhat overdone the Christmas spirit...!). It's truly amazing, isn't it? - how our brains merge the two images into one and in the process add perception of depth.

So I set up a pair of binoculars on a tripod in the garden and photographed the scene. If you look carefully you'll see how the images seen by the two eyes are subtly different (take note of the exact positions of the  edge of buildings on the right edge of the images).

(I admit to a little bit of jiggery-pokery to get the effect I wanted. I did actually take the images in the eyepieces (as they appear in the photo) through the binoculars, but the camera struggled to "see" them unless I took these shots with the binoculars the wrong way round (a bit of Photoshopping and hey presto). So that's why the images are minified rather than magnified, but I plead artistic licence. However the image you see on the left was indeed taken through the left side of the bincoluars and vice versa.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.