Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2020 Monday — 75th Birthday

Mr.Fun has had a really terrific day. The only thing that could have made it better would have been not to be having radiation treatments for prostate cancer. His appointment was 10:30 this morning.

He received a large package, a huge basket, in the mail from my sister in Portland. Lots of greeting cards, a FaceTime moment with our two little great-granddaughters in San Diego (at 13 Tristan isn’t much into FaceTiming with grandparents); little Emillia touched the screen and ended the call so their mommy phoned and had a long lovely conversation with her grandpa. For dinner we went to Bob’s Big Boy. Their booths are large, so customers were distanced 12 to 15 feet from the next group of hungry diners. We ordered a chocolate malt, not a shake, but a real malt! with whipped cream!!! The word “delicious” barely captures its lusciousness. Our food was so satisfying. While we were waiting for our meal, granddaughter Ashly sent a video of her and RJ with cartoon faces singing happy birthday with cartoon sounding voices. It was so funny and quite obvious that little RJ was enjoying it thoroughly.

This has been quite a birthday for Mr. Fun. My public words to him put on FB are here in the post script.

Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol
and Chloe & Mitzi too!

P.S. I look at you, Mr. Fun, and I can still see the boy I fell in love with many many years ago. In so many ways we've both changed and in many ways we are both the same people we were then. The first time I celebrated a birthday with you, you were turning 20 and I had just turned 16. That feels like 5 minutes ago. I can remember wanting to marry you more than I wanted life. Today I still feel the same way. You have been the best surprise of my life. There is no one else that I'd rather spend time with. You make me laugh and sigh and think and see and hear and feel and occasionally you make me mad enough to see red. Then all over again you make me laugh. Nothing about life with you has been dull. It's a privilege to celebrate you today. Even if a person lives to be old, really old, life is too short. So we choose to celebrate everyday together. We know that tomorrow is not a guarantee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.