Starting over

A lovely sunny walk along the Aegean shore today, as most days - get it while you can - though hedonic adaptation is now alive and well so much that the photo I took only makes it to my extras, usurped by a pic of two of the five woofers who accompanied me most enthusiastically as they often do (see here). Firstly, Sultan (thumbnail). He is a gentle giant who is cared for (and named by) the folk in the villa where he hangs out that's en route to the beach. The other woofer is a senior citizen who lives nearby. He often trots along to the beach with me, but then wanders back "home" without waiting, so it was particularly sweet to see him gallop along the sand today with the others. Wish I could move like that.  I'm not aware of any name for him though I'm sure that those who usually feed him have given him one. Anyway, along with Khave (Turkish for coffee, looked after by locals and named by them), and of course, Sandy (here) who is my daily companion, we all made a merry group to the beach and back again. The photo is taken at the point where, almost home, I always sit and dish out the treats - they've earned it.

Main news has to be that this afternoon I launched my new career as online teacher of English by tutoring for 60 minutes!  Learners included a Turkish teenager who made me very nostalgic and a lovely lady from South Korea. I am reborn. The feel good factor of helping people, even if the teaching/coaching was about English acquisition, one to one on line, rather than teaching music or art in a High school classroom, was, well, rejuvenating.

So, I lasted exactly six months before I started teaching again.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.